Sign In


​​​Sept. 27, 2014 • JW Marriott 

The 2014 Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by Cummins Inc. is only months away and this event promises to be even more spectacular than past Galas. The unrestricted cash award for the Indianapolis Prize winner has been increased to $250,000 and each of the remaining five finalists will also receive $10,000. We will also increase the wow-factor of this stylish celebration of animal conservation superstars.The 2014 event will mark the fifth time we've come together to recognize these real-life heroes whose remarkable accomplishments have truly changed the world!

In addition to honoring the winner and other finalists, we will once again present the Jane Alexander Global Wildlife Ambassador Award. The inaugural award was given in 2012 to Jane herself.

Join us as we recognize the accomplishments of the world's leading animal conservationists.

Purchase your tickets now or sponsor this amazing event.

Watch the video recap of the 2012 Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by Cummins Inc.




The Indianapolis Prize Gala: A History

The Indianapolis Prize Gala was never intended to be a quiet, academic, science-focused affair. Instead, each event has been an energetic and spectacular celebration of conservation victories. The programs inspire guests to care more about conservation and place these heroes, who often work in desolate and dangerous conditions, on the pedestal usually reserved for sports and entertainment stars. Take a look back at the past Galas, which have put an international spotlight on conservation issues and received global media attention.

The 2012 Indianapolis Prize Gala

The 2012 Indianapolis Prize Gala at the JW Marriott was another spectacular celebration of animal conservation, and the Gala was honored to have two committed public ambassadors for conservation as its co-hosts.  [more ...]   

Hollywood leading man Josh Duhamel shared the podium with conservationist and television presenter Saba Douglas-Hamilton at this event. The audience of nearly 1,000 thoroughly enjoyed the evening's presentation, including HD videos of all six finalists for the 2012 Prize, each of whom was recognized by everyone in attendance.

Winner Dr. Steven Amstrup received a check for $100,000 and the Lilly Medal from Lilly executive Bart Peterson, while 2006 Indianapolis Prize winner Dr. George Archibald from the International Crane Foundation presented the first-ever Jane Alexander Global Wildlife Ambassador Award to Jane Alexander herself! Both of them delivered passionate calls for the public to join in the cause of conservation, for the sake not only of themselves, but for future generations.

The evening wrapped up with a musical presentation as award-winning singer Sylvia McNair accompanied the Indianapolis Children's Choir in a heartfelt rendition of "Bless the Beasts and the Children." ​


The 2010 Indianapolis Prize Gala

The 2010 Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by Cummins Inc. was a spectacular success! During a moving program, the dramatic stories of all six of the finalists for the 2010 Indianapolis Prize were presented on giant video screens inside the elaborately decorated ballroom at The Westin.  [more ...]

In accepting the 2010 award, Iain Douglas-Hamilton delivered an extraordinary speech and in it, a call to action to save elephants. Douglas-Hamilton, came to the podium to receive the Lilly Medal dressed in his Scots finest, including kilt. Five of the six finalists were in attendance, and each one earned a standing ovation from the black-tie crowd.

Among the evening's highlights were special performances by multiple award-winning composer Marvin Hamlisch and Indiana's own dramatic soprano Angela Brown, who was joined by a chorus of the Indianapolis Children's Choir. Hosting the evening's event was award-winning actress Alfre Woodard, and 2008 Indianapolis Prize recipient Dr. George Schaller was also in the audience. [close]

The 2008 Indianapolis Prize Gala

Dr. George B. Schaller, world-renowned field biologist, was honored at the second Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by the AES Corporation on Sept. 27, 2008, at the downtown Marriott Hotel. [more ...]

This spectacular night of entertainment, co-hosted by Jane Alexander and Sam Waterston, not only honored the winner, but all the finalists for the 2008 Prize, highlighting the work they do to preserve the wildlife and wild places of this Earth.

The program included some beautiful and emotionally impactful videos featuring all the finalists for the Prize. Schaller and three of the other finalists — Dr. Iain Douglas-Hamilton, Dr. Rodney Jackson and Dr. Laurie Marker— were present, and each received a standing ovation from the crowd. The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Lilly Medal to Dr. Schaller and his acceptance speech, prompting everyone to more action to save the world's endangered animals. The evening also included stirring performances by the Eastern Star Choir and acrobatics from Electric Cirque. [close]

The Inaugural Indianapolis Prize Gala

It was more than five years in the planning, and when the audience of nearly 1,000 guests at the 2006 Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by AES Corporation rose in a standing ovation for the award's first recipient, it marked the confluence of the some of most talented, influential and accomplished conservationists from around the world. [more ...]

Indianapolis Prize nominees, committee members and jury members came together to tell the stories of hard working conservationists and to honor them as the heroes they are.

The Indianapolis Prize Gala came together thanks to the commitment and dedication of the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation, which provided the impetus and the funds.

From more than 50 nominees, six finalists were chosen, and the Jury selected Dr. George Archibald, co-founder of the International Crane Foundation, as the first Indianapolis Prize recipient. On Sept. 30, the Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by the AES Corporation was held at the Marriott in downtown Indianapolis. Jane Alexander presided over a wonderful program filled with the stunning video profiles of the finalists, a welcome from then-Mayor Bart Peterson and performances by Cathy Morris and the Indianapolis Children's Choir.

As he accepted the Lilly Medal, Archibald discussed his beloved cranes and the need for the developed world, where crane species are recovering, to aid the developing world, where cranes are not only endangered but rapidly disappearing. He then called to the stage the other attending finalists — Dr. Holly Dublin, Dr. Simon Stuart, and Dr. Iain Douglas-Hamilton. A true conservationist, Archibald put all of the $100,000 back into projects to save cranes in India, Russia and Asia. [close]

 Table Of Contents